Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan

Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chanType: TV Series + OVA
Episode Count: 8 + 4
Genre: Comedy / Fantasy
Vintage: 2005 / 2007

Version reviewed: Japanese Subtitled
Date of Review: 03 Oct 2009

Grade: B

This series is comprised of thirteen-minute episodes which are presented in pairs.

This is one seriously messed up show. But with a title like Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan, what else would you expect?

Plot Summary
In the future, someone has discovered a way to stop aging, so they have made a world where girls stop aging at the age of twelve. This is an unforgivable offense, so an angel named Dokuro has been sent back in time to kill the inventor of this fountain of youth – a boy named Sakura – so that he can never invent it. Rather than kill him, she decides to live with him and constantly distract him from his studies so that he never gains the knowledge to invent it. Dokuro also has the habit of constantly bludgeoning Sakura to death anyway with her divine weapon, a spiked bat named Excalibolg. After Sakura dies in a fountain of blood, Dokuro revives him with the magical chant “pipiru piru piru pipiru pi”.

The Review
I would like to take this opportunity to remind you that I rate these shows relative to themselves. Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan gets a B because Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan does what it sets out to do quite well, not because it is comparable to other titles that earned a B.

Everything that you need to know about Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan is contained in the lyrics to its opening theme song, “Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro-chan”, written by Tsutomu Mizushima:

Pipiru piru piru pipiru pi
Pipiru piru piru pipiru pi
A bat that can do anything: Excalibolg!
Pipiru piru piru pipiru pi
Pipiru piru piru pipiru pi
With the magical spell, I’ll bring you back to life!

I don’t want to! You can’t do such a thing! Stupid, stupid!
Don’t glare so much
Please…

Bludgeoning angel
Blood-spraying, pouring everywhere, Dokuro-chan
Bludgeoning angel
Heart-pounding pounding Dokuro-chan

I’ll step on you! I’ll tie you up! I’ll beat you up!
I’ll kick you! I’ll tease you! I’ll hang you!
But that’s just how I show my love

Bludgeoning angel
With a bat, bam, bam! Dokuro-chan
Bludgeoning angel
Blood-stained, muddled muddled Dokuro-chan

I’ll slice you! I’ll punch you! I’ll torment you!
I’ll pierce you! I’ll leave you out in the cold! I’ll drip things on you!
But that’s just how I show my love

Pipiru piru piru pipiru pi

Seriously. Those are the lyrics. I paraphrased them from the official translation on the DVD subtitles, but you get the idea. That’s really all you need to know about Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan. This is the kind of show that must have aired at 2AM in Japan. It’s one of the most bizarre and utterly wrong shows that I have ever seen, but it’s very good at it, and I found myself enjoying it.

Chances are if you are even remotely interested in Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan, you know exactly what you are getting into. This is not a series that you watch for plot or character development; it’s over-the-top slapstick ultra-violence with plenty of ecchi humor (in case you weren’t sure what the “tease” meant in the theme song) on crack. If you want something that’s off the beaten path – way, way off the beaten path – Bludgeoning Angel Dokuro-chan is your show.

Leave a Reply

