Site Update: Welcome to Haro’s Hangar

Hi, I’m liquidcross. You may remember me from such blogs as Text and Violence and The Indigo Tribe. Or not. Anyway, I’m here at the request of my longtime friend Tom to occasionally write about all things Gundam, in a brand-new section of Ryo-Ohki’s Anime Loft known as…Haro’s Hangar!

Before we get started, let me offer up a brief history of my Gundam fandom. Like many folks stateside, my first real exposure to the franchise was Mobile Suit Gundam Wing. I watched this during the end of my college years when it aired as part of Cartoon Network’s Toonami block back in 2000. I checked out a few other series shortly thereafter, especially after winning a VHS boxset of Mobile Suit Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory in a Wizard magazine contest. (Yeah, this was a long time ago.) Within a few years, however, my interest dwindled. Hey, the tapes and DVDs were extremely expensive, and I was busy joining the “real world,” so cut me some slack!

Anyway…fast forward to early 2012, when I stumbled across the Gundam Wing “Anime Legends” DVD collections on the cheap. I bought ’em and rewatched the series, and my Gundam fandom reasserted itself. It’s since grown far beyond what it once was; I build Gundam models (a.k.a. “Gunpla”) on a constant basis, and I’m catching up on all of the shows that I had missed.

Which brings me to the real point: as I watch (or rewatch) each series, I’ll be reviewing them right here in Haro’s Hangar. Sure, Tom already beat me to the punch by reviewing Gundam Wing and its sequel Endless Waltz long ago, but there’s plenty more Gundam to be had. Of course, as with other reviews elsewhere on the Loft, my reviews will be spoiler-free. I might even throw in some model kit reviews and random Gundam-related commentaries here and there…

There’s no specific frequency to my posts; some months may get more than one entry, otherwise there may be a drought for a while until I whip up something else. It’s not like you won’t have plenty of other reading material available on the Loft!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy what I have to offer in the Hangar, and your comments on my writings are always welcome. Please look forward to them.

(For further ramblings, check out Text and Violence, where I’ve written about Gundam a few times.)

Leave a Reply

